Kat’s breakfast sandwich

Hubby and I were talking about foods we miss from New York. Instantly I got a craving for this veggie breakfast sandwich I used to get at this little café that’s walking distance from my dad’s house.

I tried to mimic it as well as I could this morning, although here what I’ve always known as a hard roll is referred to as a “bulkie” roll. It tastes the same….kind of…because it’s not fresh. *sigh* I am so homesick.

INGREDIENTS 

1 Hard roll 

2 Eggs

2 TBSP Diced onion

1/4 cup Yellow squash (about)

1/4 Tomato, diced

1 Slice of cheese (I used Muenster)

Sprinkling of paprika & garlic powder

Salt & pepper, to taste 

2 TBSP Olive oil, separated 

INSTRUCTIONS 

Step 1: Sauté diced onion in 1 TBSP Olive oil until transparent. Add squash and spices. Sauté until squash is soft. Add tomato and sauté until all liquid is gone.

Step 2: Toast roll. Put slice of cheese on bottom half and set aside.

Step 3: Cook eggs as desired.

Step 4: Put sautéed vegetables on top of cheese then add eggs and top of roll. Cut in half because there’s no way you’re picking this thing up! Grab a fork and knife and dive in.

Leave a Reply

